Kirby’s Pet Pak and Plaque Blast review

So, when I first got Kirby, back in the summer, during our first vet visit we were given a “pet pak”. Now I’m sure it may not look like much of a revelation for most of you dog owner’s out there, but for a unorgainzed-but-trying-very-hard-to-be-orgaized person like me I am now so glad I had something like this. I know this is a blog but if your not wanting to read you can watch this quick video where I go through everything that is in Kirby’s puppy pack.

It came with a comb, a toy, a toothbrush, and some general puppy information. When I first got it I was so pleased with all the things that came inside, but was sure the pack would end up not being used (knowing my usually unorganized self) in the back of my closet.

025

Though, refreshingly enough it has come in quite handy with storing and organizing all Kirby’s little medications, vet information or hygiene things. This pack is just one things placed in his “puppy drawer” which is full of his coats, sweaters, brushes, hair clipper etc. I know for a fact now, without this handy little pack more then half the things I keep in here would have disappeared into the great abyss of my home by now. I think this pack idea or anything similar just makes my life as a dog owner so much more easier, as I now know where anything little or important thing can be now conveniently found.

022

In here holds his medication /flea medication at the top. A brush, nail clippers, and his dental care in the middle. His vet information at the bottom, and some coupons on the back

021I have been using this plaque blast on Poe actually for the last month. I was extremely skeptical it did any of what it said, as the T.V commercials were pretty much telling you a spray of this $15 dollar bottle did what you  sometimes end up paying hundreds of dollars for your vet to do and that it is, remove all the plaque. But I’m a sucker for these things and decided to give it a shot on Poe. As I was not sure if it was harmless to use on puppies, and Poe was the one with the oral health issues. When we first got him 8 years ago, I’ll admit I never really knew how important it was to brush a dog’s teeth, to me it was the same thing as putting your dog into a very uncomfortable frilly pink dress simply because it was “your baby”. Well since than I have learned the extreme importance of it, which is why I have a whole little toothbrush kit as you can see above for both Kirby and Poe. Anyways- He still has a bit  of plaque stuck between his back molars, and although the blast has helped it  (IT REALLY HAS!) I am pretty sure that that plaque would need professional help.  Though all in all it really did do a decent job. His teeth are quite nice and white, and for being a mature small dog (as they are more prone to teeth issues) that has had his teeth neglected for the first few years they are looking pretty great since this process. All in all it did better then expected, but I still think the toothbrush and toothpaste work the best, but if your tired or have no time, this is fast and convenient for in a pinch. So I do think if you want to try it out, it is worth the shot. I picked it up at Petsmart.

So unfortunately, not a lot has been going on with Kirby or I, and I have been busy this week so if this post seems boring to you, it probably is, I just haven’t posted in a week and wanted to get involved somehow! Hopefully this weekend we will be attempting to see if any doggies and their owners are resurfacing since this crazy weather we’ve been having (Oh canada!), if so I will be posting more soon! Until then, time to see what you guys are all up to:)

p.s- sorry I haven’t been on lately! If I haven’t been visiting your bloggy in a while, its just because I have hardly been on wordpress this past week! Will catch up though on everyone!

Thanks Snoopy , click button below to join his bloghop

Bloghop

62 thoughts on “Kirby’s Pet Pak and Plaque Blast review

  1. Love It 🙂 🙂 well done …………………………. Kriby is a lucky puppy 🙂 xxxxx
    you are organized 🙂 🙂 xxxxx
    ps- i love your nails toooooooooooooo 🙂
    smart cookie You xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxxooxoxoxoxoxoxooxxooxoxoxooxxoxooxoxxo
    C xx

  2. Very true about brushing teeth, my 10 yr old sister is proof as she has never had them cleaned and the vet always talks about how great they are! We may try that plaque buster stuff too, maybe it gets off the little bit that is left over?

    • Well there ya go, proof is always in the pudding!:) Yea the plaque blaster definetly I think makes a difference, but you don’t see it right away, as you use it one a day for 30 days, and then after you see it. I really should have done a before and after of Poe’s teeth but I really didn’t think of it.

    • Heehee I know, Kirby has only been once to the groomers so far, as I am attempting, yes attempting to learn how to groom him myself (why I do this to myself- I do not know) XD, but when he did go it was so cute the little notes they write up on them:) And thanks, I’m really glad you like them!

  3. That’s a nice little pet pak he’s got there! I keep Gracie and Henri’s stuff in a drawer and I have a file on each of them in a filing cabinet. Never realized I’d have to give up one of my drawers for them! The things we do!
    I’ve never heard of plaque blast but I do use biotene in their water and their teeth and breath are always good, the vet had recommended it.
    I’ve been absent a few days myself, vet visits, visiting family and stuff. And I had the perfect mischief Monday write up, Henri electrocuted himself! Maybe I’ll post it tomorrow. That dog is going to be the death of me!

    • ahhh! Electrocuted! omg, lol. Well I will definetly have to check up on that! And I knew I never imagined I would have to have a whole drawer just for my dogs, who’d of thunk it! I will have to find out about this biotene sounds like a very good idea:)

  4. That is one cool pet pack!! Your Moms is so smart Kirby! Much more organized than my air-head Ma! BOL
    I was always wonderin’ abouts that Plaque blaster stuffs, did Kirby get freaked about the spray in the mouth part? I think that would freak me out. Butt, if it works, I might give it a try.
    Kisses,
    Ruby
    pees: you are NEVER boring!!

    • Here’s the thing, Poe DID get freaked out by it for the first few days, and honestly never really enjoyed it, he rather not, lol, but he did get used to it. I know someone else who’s dog didn’t care a less, so I guess it just depends. It isn’t as loud and scary as the name though,it doesn’t make a crazy noise, it just kinda like the sound a squirt bottle would make. And thanks Rubs:)
      I’m still trying to figure out how to find blogspot blogs that I joined because they don’t seem to show up for me (i just cant figure it out!) lol, so that is the only reason I haven’t visited your blog lately btw, am planning on figuring it out today though!

  5. We have never thought of having a pet pack – what a grreat idea! And the teef cleaning thing…yup…we need to get mom onto that, we have arrroootiful big white teef at the moment & would like to keep it that way!
    Wally & Sammy

    • 🙂 You guys should…unless your guy’s ma is organized already! For the teeth brushing thing- I always just think its a good idea to do a brush up when you can (especially if your a small breed dog that’s breed is known for dental issue). Some dogs may never need to have their teeth brushed I believe, to be honest but if they are the type, it can end up preventing a very very expensive vet visit years down the road. Sam and Wallace you guys could even just do a quick check on google to get a heads up if your breed has to watch out for it later on in life. 🙂 Thanks for visiting you guys!:)

  6. We resist having our teeth cleaned – Raffy just tries to eat the toothpaste, the toothbrush and the finger!! However, after reading this I shall try and be very good and let her clean them for me. I don’t want plaque.

    • It’s okay you guys, Kirby and Poe understand you. I myself do not feel it has to be a daily thing, and I am more cautious about it just because they are little dogs, mixed with breeds known for getting dental issues if not looked after. Poe “hated” having his teeth brush, but it came to the point where I had to start doing it myself or else he would get severe periodontal disease if I didn’t start working on it, so that’s why I started. But honestly every dog is different, so dogs-especially the larger deeds- would be fine if they never got their teeth brush. It all depends 🙂

  7. Ok, I can’t get a puppy. I don’t even know where my stuff is, I wouldn’t be able to keep track of a puppy’s stuff. I had no idea they require so much care! They are like babies, except they never grow. Wow, you are amazing to be able to take so much care of another living creature. I am not there yet:)

    • haha, oh no, don’t let me put you off to getting a puppy one day, but yea I know what you mean. As the time passes it seems there’s always more you “should be” doing for your dog.Honestly if you were to get a large breed-dental care wise- it’s not as important, as I know many dogs that have had fine teeth without ever having been brushed. It’s just the little ones are known to getting dental issues as a senior if you don’t look after it when you can throughout their life, and if that happens a vet would be required which would get very very expensive, so that why I do it, though as thorough as I may seem with my little pack here, It’s not a daily thing.Thanks for stopping by Lavinia! 🙂

  8. I try to brush our dog’s teeth too but don’t feel I really do a very good job. It’s hard to get the toothpaste on her teeth before she licks it off! I started brushing my cats’ teeth too.

    • Yea I know what you mean, I have the same thought when brushing theirs too. Though I do think the toothpaste that is made for dogs and cats is made to still work even if it is mostly licked away, as I think every dog will do that. Yea, it is good to brush your cats teeth too, as they can get dental disease too. Just keep at it, it may not seem like it is doing much, but I bet it is 🙂

  9. Thats such a great idea, when i joined the vets i got a little thing full of leaflets buts thats it 😦
    Pees- i gave you an award, go look on my blog!!!
    Love Milo 🙂

    • Hee hee, Im getting a lot of compliments on these nails, Kirby has no idea why…XD.oH This isn’t really a Canada thing either lol, I’m pretty sure it was just meant to be a little travel case, but when your bored and unorganized these things just..happen:)

  10. Great post Kirby ;o)I have a small pet pak and additionally we have a “bazillion” of emergency kits from the car (we have to change this every year in the cars – because the paharmacies and the government want to make some money too).

  11. Well, that is just cool and what a great way to keep everything where you can easily find it when you need it. Thanks for sharing Mumsy should fix one of those up for me. Hugs and nose kisses, Chancy

  12. What an excellent idea! And of course Kirby you should always have your teeth brushed! You don’t want them to go rotten do you? They won’t grow big and strong and wolf-like if you don’t get them brushed regularly! 😉

    • I know what you mean. My ma told me shenever guessed by adding acouple betta fish and little old’ me to her zoo, it would mean sacrificing two drawers in her room,and some closet space! And I am on my way!!!!”-Kirby

  13. Hey Guys,

    Love your little handy pack and thanks for the info on the plaque buster, Mum is looking for something to use on my teeth, as apparently I’m being all fussy, so she may give that a try!!

    Hope you’re having a fun day 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  14. Dat iz one stylin ‘puppy pack’!! me finkz me shuud get one fer me!!! Me didn’t know a doggie cuud have da teefiez brushed!!! See me learned sumfing n it waz a bery guud blog!! 😉
    We too have not bin here much but we iz thinkin of you wif fondness Kirby!!
    Lub nylablue n her Mum!

Leave a Reply

