Ancient Beginnings……and the winner is…..

First of all thanks everyone who joined in. If you didn’t get it this time you might as well try again if your here, as I try to make it as fair as possible by using the randomizer. PLEASE READ: To enter you must tell me that you at least WANT TO ENTER and the BREED of your dog, or else I can not include ya, as I have already ran into problems because I didn’t know the breed of dog of someone who wanted to enter. EDIT-Even if you have a mix, enter, just pick a breed you know they are mixed with! You can even enter your breed of cat too:) I also made what I think is a pretty cool badge, for the winners of Ancient Beginnings, for anyone who collects the awards/badges. So without further ado…..

????.

..

….

…..

……

…….

……..

………

……….

………

……..

…….

……

…..

….

..

.

..

….

…..

……

……

……..

………

……….

………

……..

…….

……

…..

….

..

.

banner.php

Whooooo. The winner is 2 Brown Dawgs Blog with their beautiful Chesapeake Retriever’s Storm, Thunder, and Freighter. Just click any of the beautiful pictures below to learn more about these Chesapeake Bay Retrievers!

storm-harsens-island-huntthunder-ribbon-8-27-201120120205-freighter-2

Now snuggle up and read on about how exactly this fantastic breed came to be…Now I know 2browndawgs, your very knowledgeable on your breed, so hopefully this post does okay in your books! 🙂

The Chesapeake bay retriever is relatively new in comparison to the previous  winner Clowie. Though to us humans, and even in comparison to many of the “newer” dog breeds out there the Chesapeake definitely has ancient beginnings, which are quite detailed at that.

pollyIt has been first recorded that some of the first Chesapeake Bay Retrievers started off with two young pups thought to be St. John water dogs in 1807, aboard a floundering ship, that were rescued by a George Law, a sailor on another ship. The male was named Sailor and the female canton. As there were no cameras the only proof is in the man’s writings which depict a dog in personality and likeness to the Chesapeake. The man found them aboard a wrecked ship it is said with intoxicated sailors, and that is where he rescued them and bought them off the captain for a guinea a piece. Though because he was set to sail off for sea again, he gave them away to a man named John Mercer and a doctor while still being docked at Norfolk in Virginia. (This is starting to sound like a great movie to me!)

As John Mercer and the doctor were both avid hunters, it is then that both men discovered these dogs in the hunting fields were exceptional. This is what led to these dogs being sought after by local duck hunters.  It is thought Sailor is the dog that started the offspring we know today, as he was exchanged for a ram to a governor in Maryland. Though both Sailor and Canton were bred with local dogs, which is thought to be the real start of the Chesapeake Bay Retriever. Dogs from both Chesapeake Bay shores were recognized as one of three types of Chesapeake Bay Ducking Dog in 1877.

Other names given to the Chesapeake bay Retriever’s at one point were the Chesapeake bay duck dog, the brown Winchester, the otter dog, the Newfoundland duck dog, and the Red Chester Ducking dog.220px-Chesapeake_Bay_Retriever_circa_1915

In 1887 a definite permanent evolution of the dog was now prominent,, which was its dark brown/reddish brown colouring.

At one point there were They were fully recognized by the AKC in 1878, and became the official dog of Maryland in 1964.

drlund

Dr. John Lundy the President of the American Chesapeake Club from 1957-1959

At one point in the 1930’s to 1950 Chesapeake’s fell on the back-burner a bit when there began a big decline in waterfowl (What the Chesapeake’s were known for) and were often overlooked to be field trial dogs due to them being labelled as too “pretty”. It was this misjudgment that made many retriever fancier’s turn away thinking they would be no good at it. It is noted that with the help of the American Chesapeake club that CBR’s began to get their popularity back, and true sporting nature known.

The Chesapeake’s are said to be related to the St. John’s water dog (known as being retriever’s ancestors), Newfoundland dog. They are also said to have hounds and spaniels in them as well, though it seems unclear as to any more detail of which breeds1920s-Newf specifically.

Lastly, just for fun some famous people known for having the Chesapeake’s include Theodore Rosevelt, and actor Paul Walker (fast & the furious) and of course Thunder Storm and Freighter of the wonderful blog who inspired this all 2browndawgs.

SkipperBob

Now for the badge I award 2browndawgs with this! 🙂 Aswell as CLOWIE if your reading this.

ancestrybadge

And here is the randomizer results…

random

If I forgot you it wasn’t on purpose we swear! It’s just hard to tell if you don’t tell me your entering and the breed you are picking, as some people just like to comment but not enter so you must tell me. Comment below this post to enter next Thursday’s Ancient dogs. This is usually my last post for the week, so its up for a good 4 days, but it’s deadline is next Tuesday we will say. Everyone have a great Thursday!

58 thoughts on “Ancient Beginnings……and the winner is…..

    • Im glad you liked it. i should have added it but forgot you can still enter your doggy, just if you want pick a breed you know they are mixed with that you are curious about. (Kirby is a mix :))

  1. Oh thanks so much for featuring CBR’s. You did a great job! One thing I like best about CBR is that they have changed so little in conformation over the years. The last picture you posted was of a Field Champion (the picture with the man kneeling). I think that dog looks a lot like Freighter. Size and head/body shape is similar.

    You are right that CBR’s have fallen to the back burner at times. (I had heard it was really bad after WWII.) One correction, I believe CBR’s were recognized by the AKC in 1878, (the parent Club the American Chesapeake Club was formed in 1918 :)). I think there are definitely hounds (I have heard Otter Hound), and spaniels in their ancestry along with the Newfoundland and St John’s Water Dog and other retrievers. I read a lot of conflicting info on that though. Maybe someday there will be a definite answer through genetic testing. 🙂

    There has been a recent great debate within our breed club about the color. It is my understanding that there were many colors of brown (including ash or tan), sedge (reddish) and deadgrass (think lab yellow in all shades), in the breed from the very beginning. For some reason there is a re-write of history being attempted within our breed to say that the dogs were always brown/sedge. But sedge was only added to the standard as a color in the 90’s (or so I have been told) and in the 60’s liver was a DQ color along with black.

    Anyway, thanks for the great write up. I plan to link here in tomorrow’s post. 🙂

    So for my next breed I will give you a really ancient one that I have always been fascinated with…@pharaoh hound

    • Oh, haha there ya go wikipedia is wrong again lol, I shall make that correction on the AKC 🙂 Great reply, even more information about the CBR I at least didn’t know. I am glad you liked it though 🙂 And yes that is a extremely ancient dog! entered 🙂

  2. We have been learning a lot about this breed lately…funny you chose it too! Some new people in the neighborhood have one, so it is our first one “in person” too. My breed is not ancient so nothing really to enter your contest with, maybe my Kuvasz sister that was guarding the Hungarian royalty ages ago.

  3. Chessie’s are definitely pretty dogs but I have personally seen them in action and know just how hardy they can be!

    My vote is still for the Catahoula Leopard Dog. 😉

  4. Great badge, great information. We want to enter. We can’t remember if we did or thought we did . . . . we have been busy. If you haven’t put German Shepherd in, put it in for Phod. Lee wants you to put mutt in, but we keep telling her that isn’t a breed!

  5. I LOVED that Kirby!! That is a great breed, they sure look like some serious doggies!! I would love to go swimmin’ with em’! BOL Their coats look great! And such beautiful colors, I bets it gives them some really great camoflauge!!
    Oh, please enter me agains! This is so fun!
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  6. Cool badge and what cute dogs! I’ve seen them as adults but not puppies, they are so adorable!
    Forgot to mention, Gracie is an Australian Shepherd mix and Henri is a terrier mix. That’s all the info they gave me on them.

  7. Dear Kirby & Lea:
    Storm, Thunder & Freighter are all such handsome canines!!! I love Chesapeakes’ altho I have only met one in all my years!!! Thank you Kirby for doing a post on this versatile & lovely breed!!!
    Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue. xo

  8. Great post Kirby! I’d love to have you look into my heritage – I’m half Bichon Frise and half Havanese – Mom says if you don’t want to look into both breeds, she’d do one when you do the other! 🙂

  9. How fun! Congratulations 2BrownDawgs. Chesapeake’s are awesome and I love their blog. I’d like to enter with my Aussie mix, Pierson. Aussies aren’t really from Australia. They have an interesting yet confusing origin. AKC says they are an American breed but their history goes back much further than that.

  10. Congratulations 2BrownDawgs. I enjoyed learning about Chesapeake, their coat is so unusual and attractive. We’d like to enter, Kelly is partly a long-haired dachshund. (we think!)

  11. Great blog! Thanks to 2BrownDawgs for turning me onto your blog too! I’d like to know about My Max’s Chihuahua mix self and see what you find 🙂 Interesting to learn about the different breeds!! Thanks again!

  12. That was a fascinating post, Kirby! It really is interesting to learn more about different breeds. I love the badge and will be displaying it soon, I’m preparing a new page for my blog and it will go on there – thank you!

  13. Thank you Kirby…Momz knew something about the CBR’s from when she researched the history of Labs but you provided so much more great info here…Momz says she’s adding me to the list again…Border Terrier…And we love your new badge…Props to your mom for a great unique design

Leave a Reply

