And the winner of the next Ancient Beginings is……

.It is that time again! Time to name the next Ancient beginnings winner! I had a lot of entries this time, so if yours was not the one randomly chosen, please just comment that you wish to be entered again, and say the name of the breed you want to enter. It’s all the luck in the draw eventually your number will come up. If you want to be entered you MUST tell me you WANT TO BE ENTERED and the BREED of the dog you are entering! Remember you can also enter a cat breed or mixed breed (you just have to tell me which one to enter)!

Anyways, without further ado

????……

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;

;;;;;;;;

;;;;;

;;;

;

;

;

;

banner.php

That’s right the lovely Airedale Terrier submitted by Ruby the Airedale on behalf of the Ruby…..the Airedale!
Ruby is a lovely dog, who is always up for anything and everything. She gives the Airedale’s a very good and positive
name. If you would like to visit her please visit her link above or click on one of the pictures below of Ruby herself!

DSC00754100_0871-b

To you I award this badge/award……

ancestrybadge

2013-02-13_090253_zpse5d709c3It is well received that the first Airedale was born into none other than the
valley known at Airedale in the UK. They were created into what they are
today, by being related to the Otterhoud and none other than the  Welsh terrier, and a breed called the Bull and terrier. In the nineteenth century (1800’s) regular sporting event’s took place along the Aire river, where the main catch was large river rats. Terriers, of course were known for being fearless and going wherever their prey goes. Unlike other sporting dogs, and hounds who used their noses, or excellent “stalk and chasing abilities” terriers were great for running into a burrow or hideout- because
they were small and fearless- at getting the desired prey out. Though the
Airedale in particular, did not excel at this being a little larger, they were amazing in
the way that they weremore hardy than a regular terrier because of their larger size, andnickairedale because of their hound heritage were great scent dogs…and water dogs, perfect for catching these rats.
The terrier became even more popular when all their multi-purpose abilities were realized. Not only could they hunt well but they could retrieve, protect and guard, making them a valued edition to many farmers.
They were officially recognized by the AKC in 1886, as their present name, though they were known to also being called the Waterside terrier and the Bingley terrier before. The first Airedale to come to America was named Bruce in 1881.
airedale_batalionszThey also had a prestigious place in World war 1, known for carrying messages behind enemy lines to soldiers, the red cross also used them in finding injured soldiers. A Airedale Jack lived up to his courageous and determined name as he ran through half a mile of enemy fire. He arrived at headquarters with a broken jaw and badly splintered leg, and died
but only a minute after he made it to his destination. In 1906, again in the UK, the Airedale’s became police dogs because of their intelligence, scent, and low-maintenance appeal. Though the UK and USA, were not the only countries that recognized these dogs great abilities. Russia in 1904, trained a handful of these dogs to take the wounded away from the battlefield.redline_old
After the World War 1, the popularity of the Airedale increased as they gained notoriety from it as being fearless and courageous.
Now for some interesting facts. Did you know that two Airedale’s were lost aboard the Titanic, each belonging to very prestigious men, Colonel John Jacob Astor , and a man named Mr.Carter, who is one of the few families known to survive.

jack

1916

UntitledREMEMBER, submit your entry on this post in the comments section!

35 thoughts on “And the winner of the next Ancient Beginings is……

  1. We had an airedale when I was growing up, and two of my sisters also have an airedale now too. They are wonderful dogs, good with children, and definitely are loyal to their owners, love to run, very smart, and oh so cuddley! Airedale puppies run around $800 – $900, yes I said that correctly, but they are worth it. I am a huge fan of airedales, thanks for such a great post!

  2. It’s pretty cool how the breed really hasn’t changed that much over all these years. I’ve been lucky to know a few of them in my life and I think they are great, all-round dogs. I bet they’d clean up in agility too!

    Once again, sticking with the Catahoula for my vote!

  3. Wow! Great! I’ve read about this brave dogs who were introduced in WWI and about the dogs who died by the sinking of the Titanic – how sad. But I agree: the real dog for the real boy (and girl – of course) – Airedales are great!

  4. Superior job! This is such a ingenious idea very interesting and educational. May I submit our Millie of The Mist ( Golden Retriever) as a possible pick? Thank you for all the hard work you and Kirby put into your site. It is such a pleasure to visit.

  5. Another great history lesson Kirbster! Momz and I see a pair of Airedales walking our lake every day and have always wanted to know more about them. They’re such handsome, friendly-looking dogs. Momz and I watch an old movie last night, “Courage of Lassie” that shows dogs being trained for service in WWII and there were Airedales being used. I enjoyed learning more about them. Please enter me for next week – Border Terrier

  6. Oh Kirby, you did a FABulous job researchin’ my ansestors!!! Some of that stuffs I didn’t even know (likes the two poor Airedales on the Titanic!! Wow) Now, I guess some of my ansestors are lots braver than I, because I don’t thinks I would run through gun fire….unless there was chicken on the other side…..
    Thanks bunches for such a great job! You make my chest puff out (okays, it kinda does that anyway…)
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  7. Very interesting! These dogs aren’t a breed that is seen around very much. We did have a client that owned them and I was so surprised by how huge they are! His were at least 100 lbs. but they were pretty fat. Oops I didn’t realize I have to enter again – @pitbull

  8. I’m really enjoying these posts! The old pictures are fun to look at and see how breeds have changed over time. I don’t know any Airedales so this one was very interesting! And I’ll submit Labs again! @Labrador Retriever.

  9. Wow! Mom’s been researching hu-man genealogy, so she knows all the work you’ve done! Very interesting post about Airedales. I’m an Australian Kelpie/Border Collie, if you want to put me in the mix!!

  10. Hi Kirby! This was a great blog!!! I have always thought of Airedales as a REGAL breed!! I have met many over the years & each of them has been well mannered & gentle & so adorable!!! There are a few where I live but they are not as popular as other breeds…kind of a best kept secret!!!! Thanks for a great read!
    Lots of cuddles & pats from Sherri-Ellen.
    *nose kisses* frum Nylablue.

Leave a Reply

