Ancient Beginnings……winner is……

Alright guys, you know what time it is!!! Ancient Beginning time! Where you can submit your dog breed (even if it is a mix) or cat breed of choice. But to do this you MUST  tell me you want to enter, and tell me the BREED you picked aswell. If you do not do this, you can not be entered, because it wouldn’t be fair to the people who took the time to tell me just that. Anyways this is a very exciting edition picked by the randomizer itself, and today ……

????Drum rolllllll please……..

……………………

…………………………………….

………………………

…………………………………..

…………………….

………………………………….

………………………

………………………………..

…………………….

……………………………….

……………………..

………………………………….

……………………….

…………………………………..

……………………

……………………………………..               ……..

banner.php

This wonderful breed has been suggested by Kristine and her blog Rescued Insanity on behalf of her mixed breed but beautiful none the less (who could very well be part Catahoula) Shiva.

Shiva was just another rescue, a sweetheart, but one like many needing a lot of work. Kristine, not even sure if she was ready to take on this dog in the first place, took the leap of faith in giving this beautiful girl a second chance. Now after much trial and error, which you can read more on her ABOUT page she has successfully trained and learned how to help her once misguided pooch into having a happy life with her and her husband. I enjoy reading their blog very time I go there, and for those of you with troubled mutts, Rescued Insanity may just be the blog for you!

shivashivadance

And to Kristine I give you the……

ancestrybadge

Isn’t she cute?!!! Here I go distracting myself again, OK I don’t know if it’s just me but a dog with the word leopard in it is a dog I need to know about! Interestingly enough, as the theories and stories of how the Catahoula Leopard Dog came to be is so diverse and blurred, but I shall do my best! And what else is odd is the lack of pictures from the past, there seems to be little less then none circling the internet…….maybe someone else knows why?

native-americans-dogWe begin in a common debate, as there is actually many theories and quandaries as to where this spotted pooch originally came to be. Though the census seems to be around the 16th century where there is written proof from Spanish explorer, Hemando de Soto. It is believed that the Catahoula  Leopard Dog (CLD) was descended from such dogs as greyhounds (we know them!) and a type called a Molloser as well as a Red fox. The Catahoula is said by many to actually be one of the first recognized dog breeds of North America (WOW). Not only that but technically it was the very dog owned by none other then Native Americans. Which is pretty cool, I think in itself. In this theory there name comes from none other then the Native’s language, and if younativedog break it apart means lake and beloved. These dogs which are believed to be domesticated Red fox’s at the time, became hand in hand with their native folk in helping with almost everyday tasks, and lived a simple solitary life.

cata

Molloser

Though as everything changes so did it with the land of the first nations and the soon to be Catahoula’s when the settlers arrived. It was in Louisiana where these settlers found the so called “wild dogs”/red fox which inhabited the land in 1539. Though when the settlers came, they came with their own dogs known as  Molloser’s (bloodhounds, mastiff’s and greyhounds) and through accidental interbreeding this is believed to have produced the first CLD.

Soon enough, after years passed the settler’s began to take a notice to these new breeds called the Catahoula Leopard Dogs, and began to use them with their natural instincts in herding boars for them, as it was something they did for the Native’s for years. Interestingly what seperatmed_resed them then in still today is their herding methods which was to form almost a canine fence with their bodies around the desired hog, listening to their master in which way to go. It is this unique ability that kept them being bred by working breeders who loved this in the dog, until here they are today.

In 1979 The Catahoula Leopard Dog became the official State Dog of Louisiana.

Catahoula_Leopard_Flip_11mon-2Interesting fact: The Catahoula Leopard dog was once owned by Theodore Roosevelt, as his proud hunting dog.

The dogs come in so many colour/marking variations, they can almost be breeds of their own!

This is a dog, I for one had no idea existed I’m guessing for its rarity now-a-days, but with a story like that, and being seen as possibly the first domestic dog of North America, why don’t we all know of it!louisiana-catahoula-leopard-dog

maintumblr_mb1jvzu1zW1qjcdw9o1_500

That was a toughie, but very rewarding. REMEMBER ENTER YOUR POOCH BREED/CAT BREED DOWN BELOW IN THE COMMENTS SECTION TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR NEXT WEEKS ANCIENT BEGINNINGS! 🙂 Keep going guys, I think this was Krstine’s 3rd or 4th time entering the Catahoula!

Also before I forget thanks Gizmo for picking me and Molly the Wally for the opportunity!

 

random

44 thoughts on “Ancient Beginnings……winner is……

  1. They do come in an interesting variety of colours! I hadn’t heard of the breed until recently, it was really interesting to learn about them.

    • Again I have trouble leaving a comment. No worries we managed. Great post and very interesting. Thanks for sharing these with us. We do enjoy them. Have a terrific Thursday.
      Best wishes Molly

  2. Seems like Catahoula’s are still seen more often int he Southern US…Hadn’t ever seen one up north but they’re not that uncommon around here…at least in mixes…It’s an interesting dog breed and thanks for teaching me more about it I nominate Border Terriers for next week’s breed

  3. Very nice write up. Believe it or not, the dog in the novel I just finished is a Catahoula Leopard Dog. I chose this breed for their rarity, some of their specific character traits (like guarding and intelligence), and their ice blue eyes. 🙂

  4. Oh how interesting. I had no clue about this breed THANKS! That was great!…. and she is cute!!! Do you have her phone number?
    …oh and for the badge: I’m a Weimaraner ;o)

  5. We loved learning all about the Catahoula Leopard Dog! We had heard about them before (and even had one that came through PAWS!), but did not know all of the amazing history and background of the breed. Thank you, Kirby!

  6. Sorry I am at molly(DOT)thewally(AT)btinternet(DOT)com. If you send me another link in the meantime i will try and sort out the first one tomorrow. I sent an email to a friend of mine who might know the answer and if not I will go with the second. No worries!
    Best wishes Molly

  7. Yay! I am so excited I won! Thank you for all of your kind words and your fantastic write up! Very well-researched, even I learned a thing or two and had no idea the breed had links that far back. I actually hadn’t heard of them myself until I randomly came across an online photo one day and the dog in the picture looked almost exactly like Shiva. As rare as they are in Canada, the resemblance is pretty uncanny. Who knows?

    Thanks again! I can’t wait to see who you choose next!

  8. A classmate of mine in college had two CLD’s and that was the first time I had ever heard of them. After working at the vet hospital, I’ve met TONS of them. I think they are pretty common in a lot of mixed breed dogs that are out there.

  9. I was so excited to see your selection today Lea since my beautiful cousin just adopted a rescue dog, named her Friday and she is a Catahoula Leopard Dog. I hadn’t ever heard of them b4 either. They are totally in love with her and she’s a really good girl. Thanks for the history

  10. I know a couple of Catahoulas. They’re pretty popular in my area. I like the ones I know a lot. They’re a little rowdy, but nice. It’s fun to learn their history and see those old pictures. You’re doing a fine job with this assignment you’ve given yourself! And I’ll throw my hat in again – Rhythm @Labrador retriever

  11. Fascinating! I didn’t even know about this breed. I nominate Greyhounds for the next Ancient Beginnings. Love these posts!

  12. alot of ppl will call any merle mix a catahoula the furry one i see up there is a mix (not really betting houla either) =P i would say the dog in the first pic was probably a catahoula X staffy or other merle breed X staffy

Leave a Reply

