Ancient beginnings!

Firstly would love to support our buddy over at 2 brown dawgs on their first blog hop they created!

this-n-that-3

I was very excited this doggy got picked, as they have entered almost every time, and finally their name popped up at number 1. Thanks for everyone who entered, and don’t give up just enter your breed again down below (if your dog is a mix just pick one)

So without further ado….

????drum roll….

.

.

.

.

.

who is it?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

you will find out…..

.

.

.

.

.

when?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

now!

.

.

.

.

.

banner.php

Thats right, this week the Greyhound is on the list, and has been entered by the sweet Lori from What Remains now.

Lori has rescued and now has 3 retired racing greyhounds Casper, freedom, and Nikki. Thats right 3, but that is not all as you can read on her about page  she is a retired woman from the US army reserves, and is happy to enjoy and share what she beleives will be the best time in her life where she posts about none other than her  “life with the greyhounds, movies, books, crafts and more”.

Click the link or picture below to learn more about her and her three charming pups!

casperStory-1-Freedom

.

.

.

.

.

..

nikki

.

.So to you Lori, and your graceful beauties I present you with this badge

ancestrybadge

Now lets all learn a bit about a very unique and interesting breed…..

imagesGreyhounds have first been recognized and famously categorized as a dog related to Ancient Egypt. Though historically in literature at least these dogs were first documented as deriving from ancient Celts from eastern Europe or Eurasia. The Greyhound descend

1570's

1570’s

ants were introduced to the united kingdom as great scent hounds as early as the 5th and 6th century. They were first officially recorded in the 18th century (1700’s) which is a time many of today’s popular breeds were not for years to come.

.

.

1634

1634

Funny enough, as one might think this breed is of close relation to the Saluki based on appearance alone, during a 2004 analysis it was

made clear that these dogs are actually more closely related to herding dogs.

The name “Greyhound” does not actually mean grey-hound, but rather coming from old European language generally meaning “fair, bright, and to shine”.

Interesting fact: The greyhound is noted as being the only dog ever mentioned in the bible.

These dogs definitely did shine on the race tracks that is, well in the 20th century, as they are most commonly now known for. Which is why I would like to point out, as though many of you I sure am aware the track-life controversially (really depends on the owner of each race dog individually) has led to not always meaning glory, and welfare for the dogs.  As often they might shine on the racetracks, when (as we all do) wear out and are not at our peak anymore, the business side of this world can come out, and many greyhounds once they stop making money are left without homes.

.

.

.

1895

1895

 That is why, I admire and have such respect for the people who do rescue these still lively, and happy dogs to live out the rest of their days being loved and cared for unconditionally. So Lori, extra applause from me to you:)

That’s all for today. Remember guys if you would like your breed entered, tell me which breed below, enter every week if you want!:)

.

.coursing2

.

.

.

Untitled

.Also I would like to give a quick shout out to Views Splash for our second inspirational award. Thank you so much, it means a lot to us!!!

And for anyone popping by today and missed Kirby’s video of his first birthday! Here it is, any shares would be much appreciated! And if you have seen it already that is all for today guys, signing out, XOXO- Kirby and Leah

47 thoughts on “Ancient beginnings!

  1. Such a great post with great information! I love greyhounds- they’re such friendly and loving dogs. There are a few who live by me and they’re the most gentle breed of dog I think I’ve met!

  2. Thanks for participating in TNT! I hope to get my post up earlier next week so that if you want to add the code to your blog, you can. I am still figuring things out…lol. I am glad you found how to add your link at least.

    Great write up o the greyhound. A truly ancient breed that does not look that different today. I know some don’t like racing, but I think it is one reason that the breed looks so unchanged. Preserving working ability is a good thing to help preserve a breed.

    • that is true actually, I never though about it that way. I don’t really know the whole story about the issues/controversy of retired greyhounds, as I am sure there is some people who take good care of their racers, was just meant to speak out for the stories where they weren’t treated the best I suppose which I HEARD. In the end it all comes down to the owner individually I guess!
      And yes, I am glad I found it (my mistake) looking forward to more of your This N Thats!

  3. All the greyhounds I have met have been gentle and loving and I admire those who devote so much time to rescuing the retired racing dogs…Another great job Lea

  4. I’m so happy to be chosen! I love the pictures you found. Several I have never seen before! Obviously, I love this breed, and I love your Ancient Beginnings posts. It’s so fun to learn about the history and traits of the different breeds. Thank you, Kirby & Leah!

  5. Our compawter blew up yesterday Kirby so wez all behind.. We love Greyhounds and it’s just fantastic all the information you give us.. Will have something for you soon 🙂 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  6. Loved learning more about these very graceful dogs.
    I’ve never entered but perhaps I should as I’m not sure if you’ve ever featured a Tibetan Terrier.
    Do I have to do any more to enter?

  7. Oh Kirby, another FABulous post!! I’ve never met a Greyhound in the furs, butts I hear nothin’ but great stuffs abouts them! They sure are old souls. Thanks for givin’ us this info abouts another great breed.
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  8. Greyhounds have the oldest line of history in the canine world as far as I know. They were revered in ancient Egypt and the only thing more momentous than a litter of Greyhound puppies being born was the birth of a son. They also could only be owned by the nobility in England in the Middle Ages. Along with that, they were one of two breeds who traveled to the New World with Christopher Columbus, the other being Mastiffs. Greyhound history is one of my favorite subjects! 🙂

  9. Enjoyed reading about the Greyhounds, they’re so uncommon round here we nearly keel over when we do see one! Far too many Staff’s and Pit bull types for comfort round here and other breeds are becoming increasingly rare! Have a great Easter and don’t eat too many choccie eggs 🙂
    Easter Wolfie hugs 🙂

  10. Excellent choice for a post!! The badge of ancestry is cool, too!

    I just spent my day freezing my bits off and rattling tins for the local adoption group where I got my current two greyhounds. Everything anyone says about them being sweet, loving, calm, gentle dogs who sleep all day and don’t need much exercise is TRUE! It’s why I love them, too! 🙂

  11. My friend and co-worker at work (and a veterinarian) just lost her rescued, 3-legged greyhound last week. Seeing her greyhound in action (even with only 3 legs) was awe-inspiring. He was only a little over a year and half, but already had developed cancer along his spine. He put up a good fight and was the best boy at dealing with all the challenges life had presented to him in his short time here on earth, but eventually she had to make the tough decision to let him go. Even though she still misses her boy greatly, she has already decided to adopt another retired/injured racer. They truly are remarkable dogs and would be a breed I’d love to one day own. Thanks for showcasing this breed!

  12. Wonderful dogs! I have a Lurcher and I adopted three Greyhounds and fostered quite a few more. They’re such sweet-natured souls.

  13. Pswsum blog about da Greyhound!! Me Mum told me she haz known a few in her time n dey are lubly n gentle dogz & very clever….fankz fer such a great blog…Lub Nylablue n her Mum….

Leave a Reply

