Hey wordless Wednesday, breaking the rules

Taking cover behind me on my pillows...XD

Taking cover behind me on my pillows…XD

So yes, I realize today is wordless Wednesday, and we don’t like missing it! Already missed it last week, missed Monday Mischief this week, so we refuse to miss anymore, even though technically that doesn’t make it a wordless Wednesday, but we figure breaking the rules once isn’t going to hurt anything. Plus I always think of wordless Wednesday as cute-picture-doggy time, and we have pictures, yes we do!

So, I don’t know about you guys but over here in Canada, we had a storm last night. It wasn’t your average storm, no no. It wasn’t just storming, with rain coming out like a faucet, no, and yes there was thunder, and lightening, but it was the most INTENSE thunder we have ever heard.

This was Kirby’s first thunder storm, and would you believe it the first thunder we heard, partially shook the house! it was so loud, I wanted to look out the window and start barking. Luckily, Poe and Kirby were already at it. Poe was more on guard, ready to attack the thunder storm, while poor little Kirby was scared out of his mind, that it was a simple “fight or flight” for him, and he decided to do both. Luckily, after a few minutes, the thunder calmed down to be more “normal” and Kirby stopped caring. Β I wanted to quickly capture for you guys, Kirby’s reaction to all this in pictures, sorry they are grainy my phone was what I had quickly on me to snap a few shots.

Maybe If I can just blend into the sheets, no one  will see me?

Maybe If I can just blend into the sheets, no one will see me?

After the window was checked......

After the window was checked……

Oh and here is what his little shirt says, I am kinda a hippie at heart so had to pick this up!

IMG-20130409-00097-01

“All you need is love” -reminds me of The Beatles song

So yes that was quite an adventure! Also for anyone who is interested and hasn’t entered yet, please enter our first and onlyΒ Giveaway sponsored by Waggypooch. It really truly is a must have product for those facing the same problems I was.

Anyways until tomorrow, when we do our next Ancient beginning winner! xoxo- Leah and
Kirby




42 thoughts on “Hey wordless Wednesday, breaking the rules

  1. Poor Kirbster…That first storm can really be a shock…We get lots of thunder and lightning in our area and Gizmo is used to it now, but I remember how worried he’d be that first year and how he’d want to hide…Kirby’s shirt is so cute

  2. we also are having bad storms, we always bark and bark, it makes for a long night for mom and dad. mom said she would be honored if you tagged your friends our story about gussie.
    stella rose

  3. Woof! Woof! I am not allowed on the bed … you are??? The weather has been odd … Happy BlogPAWs (NOT) Wordless Wednesday. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  4. Some dogs have been helped by Thundershirts. I don’t think they have a hippie version. Hippies would look and listen to a storm and just go “Wow”.

  5. Oh poor Kirby,

    You could have cuddled with me buddy – You’re just SO cute – love your shirt!

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  6. Poor Kirby, hopefully you are done with extra extra loud thunder storms!
    I was lucky, when I read books about raising a puppy they said you had to familiarize your puppy to many different sights and sounds. The first time we had a thunder storm I took Gracie out into it. We walked in front of the house a bit then came back in. Did it a few times and haven’t had any problem. My last dog, Stella, HATED thunder storms and would shake terribly and hide. I always felt so bad for her. I’m not sure how Henri will react but I’m sure to find out tonight, weather report says we’re getting some thunder storms!

  7. Poor Kirby 😦 I hope you didn’t get too scared! Thunder is pretty scary, i’ma big guy and even i get scared and try sit on mummys knee!!! I love how you blend in with the sheets!! You look so cute! And i love your top πŸ˜€
    Love Milo πŸ™‚

  8. OMGosh, even though your picture is on a phone, I can really see how stressful that was for poor Kirby. Seems so early in the year for thunder and lightning do you think? I that Beatles inspired hippy shirt….I’d wear it in a heartbeat.

  9. Gracie’s Moms is right, the furst thunderstorm we had, Ma took me outs with a hand full of treaties, and everytime the thunder would boom, she would say ‘good gir’ and give me a treatie! Now I look for treaties when the thunder starts!! Win, win!! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  10. Yikes a thunderstorm in April!!! We had alot of wind & a bit of rain….this morning there is black ice & snow overtop of it!!! I am staying in with Nylablue……
    I think you did very well Kirby getting thru your first T-storm….my big Shepherd/mallie used to hide under the desk til the ‘danger’ aka noise had passed!!!
    Nylablue is fascinated by all the noise & sits in her round bed watching….she’d go out in her condo if she could, lol!!! Hope today is much quieter for you & Poe & Mum!
    Yours under a snow pile, Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too.

Leave a Reply

