Dog food review By Nature : No corn, no wheat, no soy

Hey everybody. It is Leah and Kirby here to do our review on a product we were sent to try called http://www.bynaturepetfoods.com/

Below is our personal take on it:

WP_20130730_20_31_55_SmartShootWHY DID YOU TRY IT?

We were sent the product Pork and sweet Potato flavor. For good or bad, I have been on the hunt endlessly for a dog food that is affordable, but has all the things I am looking for in keeping my Kirby, and Poe happy and healthy. In the past we have tried many “popular brands”  you can get from your local pet store, with differing results. But what I have learned is what to watch out for.

WHAT DID IT DO?

One of our two main problems is the abundance of corn you find being the first ingredient, or popular variation in many dog foods. As just with people food, corn is often used as a filler, and in my opinion too much of it is not good for us or our poochies. So to find a product like By Nature, that rightfully boasted it has no corn in it at all, I really wanted to try.

Another problem I find with Kirby that is a problem with many white dogs like him, although usually mostly superficial, is tear stains. I have recently kept it under control using various methods, one being sweet potatoes. As apparently it really helps naturally reduce this problem. Now the problem with this is you must take the time to peel, cook, chop and feed your dog this on pretty much a daily basis.  So to try out a food that has this ingredient already in it, was going to be a great time saver.

So already this was a great product as it already cured two of our problems. Another problem with Kirby is he is a very picky eater. He will go as far as to almost starving himself for most of the day just to avoid having to eat certain dog foods. So how did this one work out? Happily I can say he genuinely loves it. He acts almost as if it is one of his favorite treats he can’t wait to gobble down.

INGREDIENTS….

Now although having a first ingredient be solely “pork” or “chicken” without out anything attached is great (which you are usually buying from the vet office or a specialty store) this often means more $, which is perfectly great if your dog’s needs recommend it. If your usually looking for a cheaper alternative, you often time will be facing corn or meat-by-product as the first ingredient (at least in my experience). The first ingredient in By Nature, already beats out most of the “highly advertised food” one would buy at your local grocery store or even many pet stores because it doesn’t have corn as the first ingredient, or at all. I am aware to some of my educated dog-nutrition readers pork-meal may not be as great as having just straight pork depending on your dogs needs, though By nature contains neither, which where I live if your already lucky enough to not have corn as your first ingredient, by product is usually the next option, and in my opinion not as nice as good as pork-meal.

The following is the ingredients, they gladly show on their site:

Ingredients: Pork Meal, Ground Barley, Canola Oil (Stabilized with Mixed Tocopherols), Sweet Potatoes, Flaxseed Meal, Oat Meal, Tomato Pomace, Natural Chicken Liver Flavor, Alfalfa Meal, Yeast Culture, Salt, Taurine, Vitamin E Supplement, Choline Chloride, Zinc Sulfate, Zinc Proteinate, Vitamin A Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Carrots, Blueberries, Cranberries, Dried Chicory Root, Raspberries, Turmeric, Niacin Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Copper Sulfate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Iodate, Folic Acid, Biotin, Selenium Yeast, Sodium Selenite, Rosemary Extract, Dried Yeast Fermentation Solubles.

Okay okay so it doesn’t have corn, but what is this barley? Well to sum it up I will use a quote I found from another review I found on By nature called dogfoodadvisor: “The third ingredient lists barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. Unlike grains with a higher glycemic index, barley can help support more stable blood sugar levels.”

OTHER PRODUCTS…

Pork and sweet potatos is just one of the many option they have. Others that follow are Salmon, yogurt & ocean flavor,  duck and sweet pea flavor, grain free chicken and potato flavor, Large breed adult dog formula,  active dog formula, adult dog formula, and puppy formula. They also have wet food for dogs and cats, and dry food for cats.

ABOVE AND BEYOND..

One of the best things that makes Kirby and I melt with appreciation is when companies give back, and help out other poochies who greatly need it. By nature is proud donater to NEADS and are a exclusive pet food provider to Big dog ranch Rescue

FINAL THOUGHTS…

This has been our unique experience with it, and everyone has a opinion, but for Kirby’s current needs this was a great product for us.Since having this food, I must say I am genuinely enjoying it. And as a reviewer if I do not like something not only do I not HAVE to review it, I also just would not for multiple reasons. With most dog foods in my opinion ranging from a D  – C- grade, I happily give this a B+ on the Kirby scale 🙂

OTHER REVIEWS…

If you would like another review on this product you can also check out another fellow Kirby who reviewed this product at Kirby The Dorkie for his review 🙂

This is our straight forward honest review and personal opinion/ experience with this product.

28 thoughts on “Dog food review By Nature : No corn, no wheat, no soy

  1. Affordable and great tasting and healthy what more could a doggie ask for. We will have to tell our cuz Bear about sweet potatoes and tear stains.
    stella rose
    ps what store sells this product

  2. Interesting. It sounds really good. I think, though, that if I had a small dog, I’d make its food. Maybe. Maybe not. I’m kinda lazy …

  3. Pingback: What’s going on here? | kylascott

  4. I have heard good things about this company also Leah. I am thrilled that you have found something that Kirby really likes!!! That can be so difficult as you have seen with Kirby.
    I have tried over the years to get Nylablue on to better quality canned food for cats with little success. She was fed Fancy Feast for so long she will not eat anything else. this of course frustrates the Vet because of her Inflammatory Bowel Disease; altho Fancy Feast does NOT set it off….it seems all the other canned food does tho’.
    Our Vet gave me a sample of Royal Canin Gastro-Intestinal Fibre kibble. He figured she would turn her nose up; he was mistaken!!! She LOVES this kibble alot. They are ‘Y’ shaped which is her favorite shape. Cats are odd in the fact what they are fed once weaned is what their palates get used to for life…so cats fed round kibble will prefer round kibble & not want to eat kibbles shaped like ‘Y’s” or “X’s”….the texture & taste of wet food also imprints on their palates too…
    I often wonder if small breed dogs have the same issue?? I know many of my friends around here have problems getting their poochies to eat…I will have to tell them about this food….we must have it here too….
    Thanks for doing a great review!
    Sherri-Ellen xo

  5. Great review! Very well done 🙂 I am feeling wolfishly inspired to change my diet and post a review of my own on my other site now! Well…changing my diet from raw Elk and Boar etc might be a touch optimistic and those Europan fish from the subsurface ocean of Europa are awfully moreish!!!! So 😉 Maybe I will just try a little sample…or maybe I should feed it to the pups in the pack!! Wolfie howls and hugs 🙂

  6. That’s a great review guys! I have’t seen too many dog foods that have pork as the main protein and remember seeing something about it a while back. I can’t remember if it was something good/bad really… Anyways, I know what you mean about trying to find something decently priced that you still feel comfortable feeding your dog. I just don’t have the money to feed some of these foods that are out there, as much as I’d love to.

  7. Glad you found a food that works! It can be very difficult. We have found that for whatever reason, our dogs do not do well on foods with barley. That is a bummer because so many decent foods have it.

Leave a Reply

