What we’ve been up to

So another week (well two since I last wrote) has flown by. I am still working at the shelter, and it is as rewarding still as when I first started. I’ve noticed for me personally when you start doing something good, something that you know although small is making a difference in a field your really passionate about, it is something that will stay with you, and honestly is something no matter where I am in life I think I will always want to continue.

I am happy to say there has been lots of adoptions recently. There is always that attachment I get sooner rather than later when I’ve walked a dog day after day or played with a kitten, so when someone finds them and adopts it is a whole new experience for once feeling happy that I walk in and realize I might not see their face again, because I know they have finally got the forever home they deserve. Here are some of the dogs I’ve had the pleasure to get to know, and have now found their forever home πŸ™‚ These are not their names now but the names I gave them in my head :p Pickle, Gizmo, Taz and Missy and we’ll just call him Mr.Fluffs

IMAG0383

IMAG0278 IMAG0289 IMAG0363IMAG0496_1

Also, one more thing. Next week we will be heading out to http://www.woofstock.ca/ a Toronto based dog festival of sorts. I missed last year, but am so excited about going this year. It is not only Canada’s largest dog festival but has so many events including weiner dog races! fashion shows, vendors, and charitable causes such as rescues. Yep, and I will be sure to document all the fun and festivities right ho maybe ere! My thought is to maybe do a vlog, but as it is noted for being a extremely packed place at the least I iwll have some pictures to share. What do you guys think I should do?

Anyways thats all for this week guys, can’t wait to let you all in on how it was next week πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “What we’ve been up to

  1. Volunteering with the animals is always rewarding but it feels great when you see them get good forever homes! Have fun at Woofstock.

  2. What a fun post! Those are lucky rescued dogs (and a cat). You’re doing good work. I am so, so grateful to the amazing people who took care of Cupcake for me until I found her. I look forward to seeing what’s up at Woofstock, however you decide to show it.

  3. It’s great that there are many adoptions and a lot of pets will find a good home. Have fun at Woofstock and maybe you can write about your impressions, that would be great!

  4. You are right there is something almost undefinable about the postive feelings you get when you are doing charity work. Glad to see you post the success stories. It provides such hope.

    Looking forward to reading about Woofstock. Sounds like fun.

  5. I just recently started volunteering at my local shelter and it is definitely the most rewarding part of my day. It’s hard sometimes to see the same dogs come back three or four times, but when they finally get their furever home it’s all worth it.

  6. I think you should just enjoy it. My grandpa takes so many pictures when travelling that everyone is posing constantly. We get to “see” the place we were in when we look at the pictures at home. Take care of yourself first-you don’t need 100s of pix.

  7. Would love to see you do a vlog (if at all possible), hope you have a fabulous time!!!! I think you are just wonderful with all of the volunteering you are doing, so rewarding and so special, just like you!

  8. Volunteering is so awesome. WE are happy you are enjoying it so much! πŸ™‚

    You should definitely try to do a vlog, if possible.

    Hugs!

  9. Great work at the shelter! So easy to get attached though! Lovely when they find their forever homes but hard to see them go in another respect. Lovely pics too…I look forward to hearing from your visit to Woodstock. See how the day pans out before deciding on a W.P post design you’ll know the best approach instinctively πŸ˜‰

  10. What great work, you should feel very proud! I don’t have advice about the event but it sounds like a wonderful place to get to go. Also, I am working with a pet psychic and they are letting me help shelters by providing exposure. Would you check this post and let me know if you think the shelter where you volunteer would be interested? No commitment from them other than a name, approximate birth date and a picture of a pet in need of adoption! http://myminipetpig.com/2014/05/recommend-animal-shelter-thoughtless-thursday/

    Have fun at the event!

  11. Love the dogs & the kitten & I love how you have your own names for them.
    It is always a happy/sad when one of the 4 leggeds I have helped or visited finds their forever home & leaves the Shelter here.
    When Samurai (Siamese cat) was finally adopted I was happy & I cried for 1/2 an hour because I would not see him again. I did tell the Operators if he ever returns for them to let me know. I would take him in a heartbeat…
    I try to not get THAT attached because saying “Goodbye” can be so difficult.
    As for Woofstock; have a blast Leah!!! I have heard it is a wonderful event.
    Whatever you do, whether a Vlog or a blog with pix is fine with me!! Have fun. That is most important!
    Love Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀

  12. Howdy superb blog! Does running a blog similar to this require
    a lot of work? I have absolutely no expertise in programming but I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, should you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I just had to ask.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

